Sharing your current location with your family is inevitable as it makes them feel less worried about you. On the other hand, location sharing also allows stalkers to find you, and many might have the common query of how to stop sharing location on iPhone without notifying anyone. Modifying the iPhone settings could stop sharing location without notification.
For instance, you might want to stop sharing location without notification to your friends & family amidst your personal meeting. If you wish to keep the location private from your family members, you can disable it on your iPhone. Throughout this content you can see how to stop sharing location on iPhone without notification.
Can You Stop Sharing Location Without Notification?
Yes, there are 7 effective methods in this article that are dedicated to stop sharing location without notification. Turn off the iPhone feature such as Find My app or Share My Location to avoid people knowing your location. The other benefit of stop sharing location is no one will get notified that you’ve stopped sharing your location.
#1: Turn Off The “Share My Location” Feature
Disabling the Share My Location feature on your iPhone will stop sharing location without notification. Head to the settings app on your iPhone to explore privacy settings, where you can turn off “Share My Location.” Look at the following steps to modify iPhone privacy settings
- Go to iPhone Settings App
- Scroll down to open “Privacy” tab
- Click on the “Location Services” option
- Then, select the “Share My Location” tab
- Lastly, tap once on the toggle bar next to “Share My Location” to disable it
Location sharing feature on your iPhone drains more battery power, so disabling it might help save battery. Sometimes, an app on your device needs to access the device location; in such cases, enable those apps when using it & disable it later.
- A one-step solution to stop sharing location without notification.
- Stalkers can’t find you anymore unless you re-enable it.
- Apps, such as Weather, Maps, etc., can’t access device location when you stop sharing location without notification
- This feature is incompatible for models before iOS 8
#2: Restrict Apps To Access Device Location
Location sharing configuration is the must-have for some apps to function. Restricting location access to such apps on your device lessens the location services & causes battery drain. Here is how to disallow location permission
- Launch iPhone Settings
- Click on the “Privacy” tab
- Then, open the “Location Services”
- Select the app that you want to restrict from accessing device location
- Then click “Never” in the next tab
You’ve successfully denied those apps from using your iPhone location services. This way, you can stop sharing location without notification on the iPhone.
#3: Stop Sharing Location Through “Find My” app
A default app on your iPhone is Find My, for sharing your device location with another iPhone having the same app. Also, it allows you to access the current iCloud account on another iOS device. Anyways, turn off the “Share My Location” feature for – “Find My” app to restrict location sharing without anyone knowing.
- Head to the “Settings” app on your iPhone
- Scroll down to select the “Find My” app
- Click either your “iPhone” or “Me” option
- Then, toggle off the “Share My Location” function
- This method is easy to perform
- You can stop sharing location to anyone as you wish
- The person to whom you want to stop sharing your location will receive a notification
- In case you lost your iPhone, you can’t find it through “Find My” app
- Anyways, your last location is visible to your “Find My” app contacts
#4: Enable The Airplane Mode
Once you enable the Airplane or Flight mode on your iOS device, you will not receive any calls, messages or app notifications. At the same time, activating the flight mode also paves the way to stop sharing location without notification. Go through the iPhone settings to enable Flight mode by the steps below
- Go to iPhone Settings
- Find & locate the “Airplane Mode”
- Tap once on the toggle bar after the “Airplane Mode” to enable it (it turns green when it is on)
#5: Use Another iOS Device To Fake Your Current iPhone Location
If you’re having “Find My” app active on your iPhone, you could use another way to stop sharing location without notification. Take advantage of the steps below to pursue this method
- Enable “Share My Location” feature under the “Location services” on iPhone settings
- At the same time, open the “Find My” app through settings on another iPhone
- Click on the “Me” option
- Tap the “Use this iPhone as My Location” button
Afterwards, your current iPhone location will be replaced by another iPhone’s location. By doing this, you can come across the pros & cons of faking your current location.
- It is a quick way to provide false location
- No one can detect where you are, through your history of locations
- You should have another iOS device
- It creates a chaotic situation among your friends and family when they note your device remaining on the same location for a long time
#6: Turn Off The Location Services
Disabling the location services on your iPhone allows you to stop sharing location without notification. Below are the steps to turn off location services through iPhone settings
- Launch the “Settings” App
- Click on the “Privacy” tab
- Then, select “Location Services”
- At last, toggle off the “Location Services”
#7: Use iMessage To Hide Location
iMessage is a specific messaging app on your iPhone that lets the receiver know your current location when sending a message. This app is facilitative, but the only disadvantage is that it shows your location to everyone receiving the message. Luckily, you can follow the steps here to stop sharing location without notification
- Open the iMessage app on your iPhone
- Go to any conversation to stop sharing location without notification
- Tap the encircled “i” icon at the top right of the chat tab
- Click on the “Stop Sharing Location”
Another option in the iMessage app is that it shares the location with the chosen contacts until the time limit you’ve set. However, this option sends a notification while stopping sharing location with the receiver.
For your safety & security, sharing your current location with your friends and family is the best way. But if it comes to your privacy, stop sharing location without notification keeps stalkers away. However, you can share location with your beloved mates & stop sharing with others without their knowledge. The above effective methods will safeguard your privacy & later you can share your location to your mates when you hardly need to.